Before we do, I need to cover my butt and yours!

TALK TO YOUR DOCTOR BEFORE YOU GO GLUTEN FREE!   If you think you may be intolerant or Celiac, the tests can be seriously effected if you have already cut the food out of your diet.  So, if the test results are important to you…  test first… then make the change!

Having said that though, test results aren’t the Be All and End All!  If you get a negative results TRUST YOUR GUT!  If you feel better by NOT eating something then DON’T Eat It!  Simple.  The Medical Community is doing its best to learn and push forward with new information but they have limitations.  You understand your body best!

 

Let’s break it down to KISS.

What I have here is a simple overview of eating gluten-free (GF). Because it is based on individual needs, a complete clear-cut bible of what to do and not do is not possible.  It’s a “guideline”.  Always seek out additional information and opinions before taking ANYONE’s word as GOSPEL!  Including mine!

Add One New Food At A Time
When adding a food item to your diet, introduce only one new food at a time. Listen to your body for adverse reactions before trying a second new food item.

READ READ READ and READ some more!

Big words on labels, in write ups and from people’s lips get tossed around often enough to make a new person ( and seasoned veteran ) feel like they have entered a strange universe of foreign languages.  Like any cultural immersion, it will come in time.  Until then, ask and research!  Each of us in this community are pioneers in our own ways and we LOVE to share that information!( It’s why we blog!)  DON’T FEEL DUMB!  We all had to ask the question at some point!

So, what is Celiac Disease?  Isn’t it just an Intolerance ?

Celiac disease (CD) is a life-long genetic disorder affecting children and adults. When people with CD eat foods that contain gluten, it creates an immune-mediated toxic reaction that causes damage to the small intestine. This does not allow food to be properly absorbed. Even small amounts of gluten in foods may affect those with celiac disease and cause health problems. Damage can occur to the small bowel even in the absence of symptoms.

Says Living Without Magasine

For more information  on that follow the link to  here…

What is Gluten?

Gluten is the generic name for certain types of proteins contained in the common cereal grains wheat, barley, rye and their derivatives. Research indicates that pure, uncontaminated oats consumed in moderation (up to 1/2 cup dry oats daily) are tolerated by most celiacs. Gluten-free oats are currently available in the United States. Consult your physician or dietitian before including oats in your diet and for regular monitoring.

For more information  on that follow the link to  here…

Grains allowed
Rice, Corn (Maize), Soy, Potato, Tapioca, Beans, Garfava, Sorghum, Quinoa, Millet, Buckwheat, Arrowroot, Amaranth, Teff, Montina, Flax and Nut Flours.

Grains not allowed in any form
Wheat (Einkorn, Durum, Faro, Graham, Kamut, Semolina, Spelt), Rye, Barley and Triticale.

Foods/products that may contain gluten
Beers, Ales, Lager, Breading & Coating Mixes, Brown Rice Syrup, Communion Wafers, Croutons, Dressings, Drugs & Over-the-Counter Medications, Energy Bars, Flour & Cereal Products, Herbal Supplements, Imitation Bacon, Imitation Seafood, Marinades, Nutritional Supplements, Pastas, Processed Luncheon Meats, Sauces & Gravies, Self-basting Poultry, Soy Sauce or Soy Sauce Solids, Soup Bases, Stuffings, Dressings, Thickeners (Roux), Vitamins & Mineral Supplements

Always read the label and don’t accept ” I don’t Know” as a final answer!
The key to understanding the gluten-free diet is to become a good label reader. Don’t eat foods with labels that list questionable ingredients unless you can verify they do not contain or are not derived from prohibited grains. Labels must be read every time foods are purchased. Manufacturers can change ingredients at any time. As of 2006, wheat used in products is identified on the label.

And Call Them! You can verify ingredients by calling or writing a food manufacturer and specifying the ingredient and the lot number of the food in question. State your needs clearly – be patient, persistent and polite.

If In Doubt, Go Without
Don’t eat a food if you are unable to verify the ingredients or if the ingredient list is unavailable. Regardless of the amount eaten, if you have celiac disease, damage to the small intestine occurs every time gluten is consumed, whether symptoms are present or not.

 

Wheat Free Is Not Gluten Free  AND  Gluten Free is not Wheat Free
Products labeled wheat free are not necessarily gluten free. They may still contain spelt, rye or barley-based ingredients that are not gluten free. Spelt is a form of wheat.

Wheat grass is indeed, as it’s name indicates, WHEAT!  There are many ways for wheat to be used and many of those ways are considered GLUTEN free but they are NOT wheat free!

 

There will always be “Just a ‘Few’ More Things” but save them for when your head isn’t spinning!

How about alcohol?

Leave a Reply