One post leads to another as I plan a meal.  ”But what about the salad dressings? Is Kraft safe?  ”

Clickity Click…

Kraft Canada is quoted as:

… it has been a long standing policy for all Kraft and Nabisco products to list ingredients that contain gluten on the ingredient statement. These items will be listed using commonly known terms such as Wheat, Barley, Oats or Rye. For other ingredients that contain gluten, the grain source will be declared in parenthesis after the ingredient name. For example, if the ingredient “natural flavor” contains a gluten source, the label would read: natural flavor (contains rye). Other ingredients that contain gluten are: Triticale, Spelt, Kamut, Mir or Farina (also known as Far or Farro).

YAY Kraft!

Tips about Common Ingredients

  • Food Starch and Modified Food Starch listed in the ingredient statements of Kraft products often refer to corn starch. If a Kraft product uses food starches from a gluten-containing source, such as wheat starch, the source is always identified in the ingredient statement.
  • If Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (HVP) is used as an ingredient in a Kraftproduct, the source is always identified in the ingredient list.
  • The ingredient Mustard or Mustard Flour does not contain gluten.
  • Vinegar listed in the ingredient statement of Kraft products means distilled vinegar is used. Per our ingredient suppliers, the distilled vinegar we use does not contain gluten.

These labeling practices and tips are based on the Kraft Foods approach to manufacturing and labeling products. Practices used by other manufacturers may differ.


This blog entry was posted Category: Businesses, Dips and Sauces, Lunch, Media, Online Links, Product Reviews, Resources
You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

















%d bloggers like this: