After a night of reading… reading.. reading, cross referencing and looking up more terms than I have since junior high biology classes, the question seems to come down to this.
Wheat grass is a member of the wheat family.
The seed planted contains gluten. If it is allowed to continue to grow, a seed/kernel will form that contains gluten. The stalk never contains gluten.
If you are sure the wheatgrass was harvested prior to seeds forming at the top and that it was cut and no roots (the partially used up gluten in the seed alluded to in an earlier post) were pulled up, you will have gluten free wheatgrass. Cross contamination would be a huge risk in this case.
If you have a wheat allergy – which may or may not be a sensitivity to gluten and can even occur in conjunction with gluten sensitivity – you should be avoiding wheatgrass regardless of gluten content.
While gluten free is seen as a celiac issue, there are people (like ourselves) who avoid gluten for other reasons. If you have a wheat allergy – which can occur with and without celiac – you have reason to avoid wheatgrass regardless of gluten content.
Wheat grass comes from wheat that has been allowed to sprout and grow. It is usually sold either as fresh juice pressed from the grass or as a powder made from dehydrating this juice. Either way, wheat grass is chock full of vitamins, minerals and other good things.”
Wheatgrass is a food prepared from the cotyledons of the common wheat plant. A cotyledon is a significant part of the embryo within the seed of a plant. Upon germination, the cotyledon may become the embryonic first leaves of a seedling.
- Barbara D Allan